ACS National Convention 2019

Highlights from the June 6-8 convention.


The 2019 ACS National Convention was fantastic: three days with some of the brightest attorneys, law students, scholars, and advocates in the nation.

The 2019 ACS National Convention brought together nearly 1,000 lawyers, law students, judges, and policymakers to address some of the most urgent and challenging issues confronting our nation. Convention speakers included Bryan Stevenson, Hon. Goodwin Liu, Rep. Colin Allred, Rep. Sharice Davids, Rep. Jennifer Wexton, Bob Ferguson, Hon. Anita Earls, and many more.

Panels considered such timely issues as the need for structural reform of the Supreme Court, the role that state courts and state constitutions can play in protecting rights and liberties, and the need to develop a comprehensive government reform agenda to repair and safeguard our democracy in the post-Trump era.

WATCH: View videos of speakers and panels

READ: View the full program

LOOK: View photos from the 2019 National Convention


Bryan Stevenson receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Bryan Stevenson received ACS’s Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2019 ACS National Convention. The award recognizes those individuals who have devoted a substantial portion of their distinguished careers to ensuring that the law is a force to improve the lives of all people.

Professor Stevenson is the founder and Executive Director of the Equal Justice Initiative and a Professor of Law at NYU School of Law. He has devoted three decades to challenging the criminal justice system’s bias against people of color, the poor, the young, the mentally ill, and other marginalized populations.

ACLU’s Immigrants’ Rights Project received Progressive Champion Award

The ACS Progressive Champion Award recognizes extraordinary efforts to ensure that the law is a force to improve the lives of all people, protect our Constitution, and cultivate the next generation of legal leaders.

The work of the ACLU Immigrants’ Rights Project has exemplified the tremendous positive impact that lawyers can have on individual lives and on the public debate of a critical policy issue.

See full list of honorees.


For all information on CLE credit during National Convention, visit the Convention CLE page.