ACS Student Convention 2020

Harvard Law School/March 27-28

Latest

In an effort to counteract the spread of COVID-19 and preserve the health of our members and their communities, ACS made the difficult decision to cancel the 2020 Student Convention at Harvard Law School scheduled for March 27-28. Instead, ACS hosted a series of virtual events featuring a number of the speakers originally scheduled to appear in Boston.

Scroll down to watch the videos and listen to event recordings!

Save the dates to join us in 2021! The 2021 ACS Student Convention will be February 26-27 at the Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law.

View Student Convention Schedule.

Student Convention Virtual Series:

  • Friday, March 20 at 2:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. PT: Student Leader Virtual Townhall with ACS President Russ Feingold and introductory remarks from Radhe Patel, ACS Harvard Law School President. You can listen to a recording of the call here.
  • Monday, March 23 at 4:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. PTSmall group networking discussion with ACS National Board of Directors Chair Peter Karanjia. You can find more information herePlease note that each of our small group networking discussions will be limited to 10 registrants to promote an interactive discussion.
  • Thursday, March 26 at 2:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. PT: Protecting the Right to Vote in 2020. This call featured Alex Gulotta and Hannah Klain. You can listen to a recording of the call here.
  • POSTPONED: Small group networking discussion with Deputy Director of the Poverty & Race Research Action Council Megan Haberle. You can find more information and register here. Please note that each of our small group networking discussions will be limited to 10 registrants to promote an interactive discussion.
  • Tuesday, March 31 at 4:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. PT: Creative Lawyering: Fighting Goliath with Randolph Chen, Kalpana Kotagal, Toby Merrill, and Sharmila L. Murthy. You can listen to a recording of the call here.
  • Thursday, April 2 at 3:00 p.m. ET/ 12:00 p.m. PT: Small group networking discussion with Executive Director of American Oversight Austin Evers. You can find more information and register here. Please note that each of our small group networking discussions will be limited to 10 registrants to promote an interactive discussion.
  • Tuesday, April 7 at 1:00 p.m. ET/10:00 a.m. PT : Small group networking discussion with ACS National Board of Directors Member Pamela Karlan. You can find more information and register here. Please note that each of our small group networking discussions will be limited to 10 registrants to promote an interactive discussion.
  • Wednesday, April 8 at 11:00 a.m. ET/ 8:00 a.m. PT: Small group networking discussion with Senior Staff Attorney of the Criminal Justice Policy Program Sharon Brett. You can find more information and register here. Please note that each of our small group networking discussions will be limited to 10 registrants to promote an interactive discussion.
  • Thursday, April 9 at 2:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. PT: Innovations in Local Leadership with Hon. Chokwe Antar Lumumba, Hon. Sumbul Siddiqui and moderated by Jonathan Miller. You can watch the panel discussion here.
  • Tuesday, April 14 at 3:00 p.m. ET/ 12:00 p.m. PT: Small group networking discussion with Professor Justin Hansford, Executive Director of the Thurgood Marshall Civil Rights Center and Professor of Law at Howard University School of Law. You can find more information and register here. Please note that each of our small group networking discussions will be limited to 10 registrants to promote an interactive discussion.
  • Wednesday, April 22 at 1:00 p.m. ET/10:00 a.m. PT: Path to the Bench: Practical Advice from Judges with Hon. Pamela K. Chen (E.D.N.Y.), Hon. Jeffrey I. Cummings (N.D. Ill.), Hon. Darrin P. Gayles (S.D. Fla.), Hon. Pamela Harris (4th Cir.), Hon. Melissa Hart (Colo.), and ACS VP of Strategic Engagement Jill Dash. Register here. This event is also the first in the upcoming ACS Career Series. Stay tuned for more information!
  • Thursday, April 23 at 4:00 p.m. ET/ 1:00 p.m. PT: The Degradation of Democracy – and the Courts with Kirkland & Ellis Professor of Law at Harvard Law School Michael Klarman. You can find more information and register here.
  • Thursday, April 23 at 5:00 p.m. ET/ 2:00 p.m. PT: Virtual Happy Hour: A Toast to Resiliency. You can find more information and register here.

Schedule and Speakers

Registration

Scholarship applications are now closed: If you applied for a scholarship, please wait for a response before registering.

If you are not an ACS National Member, sign up for a student membership now ($10)!