April 29, 2022

American Constitution Society Announces 2022 Next Generation Leaders 

Contact: Nancy Rodriguez, nrodriguez@acslaw.org

Washington, DC — The American Constitution Society (ACS) is pleased to announce the selection of 22 up-and-coming legal professionals for the 2022 Next Generation Leaders (NGL) program.

Launched in 2007, the Next Generation Leaders (NGL) program distinguishes law school students who have demonstrated memorable and significant leadership in their work with ACS’s student chapters. Through special programs and opportunities, the NGL program supports and empowers these progressive leaders across the country.

“I’m thrilled to welcome this talented and diverse group of Next General Leaders,” said ACS President Russ Feingold. “We are confronting a moment of truth for our democracy, and we need young leaders who are committed to protecting the guardrails of our democracy and ensuring our laws and legal systems protect the lives of all people. Our Next Generation Leaders are at the forefront of progressive legal change. I look forward to working alongside these accomplished leaders as we continue advancing ACS’ mission.”

NGL applicants undergo a competitive application process. Each year, 20-30 students are selected as NGLs, and one NGL is selected to serve a 2-year term as a student member of ACS’s Board.

There are now over 400 NGLs in the ACS network. NGLs form an integral part of the ACS network, with many contributing to the strength of the network as lawyer chapter leaders, mentors, and thought leaders through media and legal analysis. These leaders are also contributing to positive progressive change in their communities and around the country as thought leaders, lawyers, policymakers, academics, and elected officials.

The 2022 Next Generation Leaders, in alphabetical order, are:

Chuck Alcock, University of Denver Sturm College of Law ‘23

Eliane Bejjani, Georgetown University Law Center ‘22

Harris Bresowsky, Albany Law School ‘22

Caroline Brown, University of Denver Sturm College of Law ‘23

Sarah Chase, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law ‘23

Molly Crain, University of Kentucky J. David Rosenberg College of Law ‘22

Ethan Dawson, Indiana University Maurer School of Law ‘23

Shawn Deadwiler, UDC David A. Clarke School of Law ‘24

Owen Flomberg, Washington University in St. Louis School of Law ‘23

Jennifer Friedmann, Stanford Law School ‘22

Greta Johnson, Mitchell Hamline School of Law ‘23

Hirsh Joshi, University of Missouri School of Law ’23

Rekha Kennedy, Yale Law School ‘23

Max Larson, University of Virginia School of Law ‘23

Jake Mazeitis, Yale Law School ‘23

Taylor McClain, University of Georgia School of Law ‘23

Sabrina Minhas, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School ‘22

Zarinah Mustafa, Harvard Law School ‘22

Angela Peterson, The University of Chicago Law School ‘23

Victoria Sheber, Georgetown University Law Center ‘23

Elisha Untiedt, The University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law ‘22

Jess Zalph, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School ‘23


ACS believes that the Constitution is “of the people, by the people, and for the people.” We interpret the Constitution based on its text and against the backdrop of history and lived experience. Through a diverse nationwide network of progressive lawyers, law students, judges, scholars, and many others, we work to uphold the Constitution in the 21st Century by ensuring that law is a force for protecting our democracy and the public interest and for improving people’s lives. For more information, visit us at www.acslaw.org or on Twitter at @acslaw.