April 22, 2021

American Constitution Society Announces 2021 Next Generation Leaders

Contact: Pablo Willis, media@acslaw.org

Washington, DC — The American Constitution Society (ACS) has selected 28 up-and-coming legal professionals for inclusion into its 2021 Next Generation Leaders (NGL) program.

Launched in 2007, the NGL program identifies law school students who have demonstrated special leadership in their work with ACS’s student chapters, and cultivates that talent through special programs and opportunities to empower and support these progressive leaders across the country.

“ACS Next Generation Leaders are the future of our organization,” said ACS President Russ Feingold. “We are at a turning point in this country. We need dedicated, young progressive leaders who have the requisite skills, knowledge, and talent to act now during this critical moment in our country. Part of ACS’s role is to enhance the connections within our network, and increase support for our leaders, especially our leaders within the next generation. I am thrilled to welcome this class of 2021 ACS Next Generation Leaders. I am inspired by them and look forward to working alongside these talented leaders to achieve our mission.”

NGL applicants undergo a competitive application process. Each year, 20-30 students are selected as NGLs, and one NGL is selected to serve a 2-year term as a student member of ACS’s Board.

There are now over 400 NGLs in the ACS network. NGLs form an integral part of the ACS network, with many contributing to the strength of the network as lawyer chapter leaders, mentors, and thought leaders through media and legal analysis. These leaders are also contributing to positive progressive change in their communities as thought leaders, lawyers, policymakers, academics, and elected officials.

The 2021 Next Generation Leaders, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Francesco Arreaga, UC Berkeley School of Law ‘21
  • Patrick Berning-O’Neill, University of Chicago Law School ‘21
  • Chandni Challa, Saint Louis University School of Law ‘22
  • Alexander Farah, Brooklyn Law School ‘21
  • Madeline Feldman, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School ‘22
  • Alex Garrett, Georgia State College of Law ‘23
  • Elizabeth Gooen, Boston College Law School ‘22
  • Emily Henderson, Willamette University College of Law ‘22
  • Matthew Kelly, Stetson University College of Law ‘22
  • Katerina Krohn, Temple University Beasley School of Law ‘22
  • Karen Lillie, University at Buffalo School of Law ‘22
  • Andrew Lindsay, Duke University School of Law ‘21
  • Ali Mahmood, Marquette University Law School ‘22
  • Morgan Maloney, University of Virginia School of Law ‘22
  • Daniel Martin, NYU School of Law ‘22
  • Jaylin McClinton, Chicago-Kent College of Law ‘22
  • Jon McLamb, Wake Forest University School of Law ‘21
  • Oluwatomi Ogunsanya, Howard University School of Law ‘21
  • Zoraima Pelaez, The University of Texas School of Law ‘22
  • Ardalan “Ardy” Raghian, Santa Clara University School of Law ‘21
  • Megan Raymond, UC Berkeley School of Law ‘21
  • Marielle Sider, Pepperdine University Caruso School of Law ‘22
  • Robby Sisco, Santa Clara University School of Law ‘21
  • Holly Stephens, University of Georgia School of Law ‘21
  • Ross Svenson, Harvard Law School ‘21
  • Katie Teleky, University of Michigan Law School ‘21
  • Jaclyn Waara, University of Wyoming College of Law ‘22
  • Nicholas Williams, University of North Carolina School of Law ‘22


ACS believes that the Constitution is “of the people, by the people, and for the people.” We interpret the Constitution based on its text and against the backdrop of history and lived experience. Through a diverse nationwide network of progressive lawyers, law students, judges, scholars, and many others, we work to uphold the Constitution in the 21st Century by ensuring that law is a force for protecting our democracy and the public interest and for improving people’s lives. For more information, visit us at www.acslaw.org or on Twitter at @acslaw.