April 14, 2020

American Constitution Society Announces 2020 Next Generation Leaders


Contact: Nancy Rodriguez media@acslaw.org

Washington, DC — The American Constitution Society (ACS) has selected 26 up-and- coming legal professionals for inclusion into its 2020 Next Generation Leaders (NGL) program.

Launched in 2007, the NGL program identifies recent and forthcoming law school graduates who have demonstrated special leadership in their work with ACS’s student chapters, and cultivates that talent to becoming the next generation of progressive leaders across the country.

“These are challenging times. We face attacks from the right and from those who want to diminish the rule of law, even in the face of a pandemic,” said ACS President Russ Feingold. “But I feel incredible optimism when I look at this new cohort of Next Generation Leaders. With their demonstrated passion, commitment, and initiative, I look forward to working with this group to turn around the damage that has been done and rekindle the American people’s confidence in the law as a means to improve and protect their lives.”

NGL applicants undergo a competitive application process. Each year, 20-25 students are selected as NGLs, and one NGL is selected to serve a 2-year term as a student member of ACS’s Board.

NGLs receive unique access to training and individualized career and other support from ACS staff.

There are now over 350 NGLs, as more senior NGLs become mentors to their more junior peers. NGLs form an integral part of the ACS network, with many NGLs contributing to the strength of the network as lawyer chapter leaders, authors of blog posts and other substantive contributions and as advisors to the organization in its continuing efforts to provide valuable opportunities to its members.

The 2020 Next Generation Leaders, in alphabetical order, are:

  • David Adeleye, Indiana University Maurer School of Law ‘21
  • Rashmi Borah, Emory University School of Law ‘20
  • Connor Clegg, University of Wisconsin Law School ‘21
  • Ian Courts, North Carolina Central University School of Law ‘20
  • Brett Graham, Georgetown University Law Center ‘21
  • Rebecca Guterman, NYU School of Law ‘21
  • Hayley Hahn, University of Virginia School of Law ‘21
  • Morgan Higgins, The University of Oklahoma College of Law ‘21
  • Benjamin James, American University Washington College of Law ‘21
  • Paulina Kennedy, University of Detroit Mercy School of Law ‘20
  • Allison Lantero, Notre Dame Law School ‘21
  • Bobby Larsen, University of Nebraska College of Law ‘21
  • Julia Manacher, Arizona State University, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law ‘21
  • Natasha Martinez, University of Missouri School of Law ‘21
  • Sabrina McGraw, University of California, Berkeley, School of Law ‘20
  • David McIntyre, University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law ‘21
  • Erika Melanson, University of Idaho College of Law ‘21
  • Radhe Patel, Harvard Law School ‘20
  • Amanda Pescovitz, The George Washington University Law School ‘20
  • Samuel Rubinstein, University of Michigan Law School ‘21
  • Justine Sheehan, Boston College Law School ‘21
  • Andrew Shulman, University of Denver Sturm College of Law ‘20
  • George Thurlow, Stetson University College of Law ‘21
  • Rabiya Tirmizi, California Western School of Law ‘20
  • Dustin Weber, Santa Clara University School of Law ‘20
  • Kevin Witenoff, Vanderbilt Law School ‘21


ACS believes that the Constitution is “of the people, by the people, and for the people.” We interpret the Constitution based on its text and against the backdrop of history and lived experience. Through a diverse nationwide network of progressive lawyers, law students, judges, scholars, and many others, we work to uphold the Constitution in the 21st Century by ensuring that law is a force for protecting our democracy and the public interest and for improving people’s lives. For more information, visit us at www.acslaw.org or on Twitter at @acslaw.