May 27, 2021

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm, Central Time

ACS Minneapolis-St. Paul: Second Annual Justice David Lillehaug Award for Distinguished Leadership Ceremony: A Conversation on the Second Chair Program featuring Katherian Roe and Justice David Lillehaug

Please join the ACS Minneapolis-St. Paul Lawyer Chapter for our Second Annual Justice David Lillehaug Award for Distinguished Leadership Ceremony. This is an event where we honor a leader in the local progressive legal community who has demonstrated a commitment to advancing a vision of the Constitution and law that enhances individual rights and liberties, and promotes genuine equality, access to justice, democracy and the rule of law. 

We congratulate this year’s recipient of the Award: Federal Defender Katherian D. Roe. Defender Roe is a passionate and experienced lawyer and former judge in the Twin Cities who worked to create a criminal defense bar more reflective of the clients her office serves. During our event on May 27, former Justice David Lillehaug and Defender Roe will have a conversation about the programs that she has implemented as part of her leadership, including a second-chair program, that enhance the quality of representation for the indigent accused. 


Hon. David Lillehaug, Former Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court; Member, ACS Minneapolis-St. Paul Lawyer Chapter Board of Advisors

Katherian D. Roe, Federal Defender for the District of Minnesota

We are pleased to announce that Hannah Stephan, a current 2L at the UMN, is our first recipient of The Justice Anne K. McKeig Award for Distinguished Student Leadership. We are particularly impressed by Hannah’s work creating the Civic Scholars Initiative to encourage people to participate in the election process, which you can read more about here. We will be honoring Hannah during this event as well.