ACS National Convention - Welcome and Presentation of ACS Awards

Welcome and Presentation of ACS Awards

June 8, 2020

Join the conversation on Twitter: Follow #ACS2020 |  View the full June 8-12 program.

ACS thanks our 2020 National Sponsors!

Closed Captioning

The video of this event on the ACS Facebook page has subtitles. Please note: You do not need a Facebook account to watchGo to Facebook.


Welcome Address by ACS President Russ Feingold

Presentation of ACS Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Hon. Walter Dellinger
Presented by Dawn Johnsen

Progressive Champion Award:
Tina Tchen
Presented by Julia Manacher

David Carliner Public Interest Award:
Amanda Alexander, Detroit Justice Center, and Allison Riggs, Southern Coalition for Social Justice
Presented by Sarah Remes

Writing Competitions:
Richard D. Cudahy Writing Competition on Regulatory and Administrative Law:

  • Anne Joseph O’ConnellMila Sohoni, and Ben Miller-Gootnick

Constance Baker Motley National Student Writing Competition:

  • Winner: Tyler Smoot ('21), University of Alabama School of Law
  • Runner-up: Ben Miller-Gootnick ('21), Harvard Law School
  • Runner-up: Rachel Scholz-Bright ('21), Georgetown University Law Center
  • Finalists: Allison Lantero ('21), University of Notre Dame Law School, William Lawrence ('21), Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law, Ellen Bertels ('21), University of Kansas School of Law, Christopher Killmer ('21), Willamette University College of Law

ACS Lawyer Chapter Awards:

  • Lawyer Chapter of the Year: Georgia Lawyer Chapter
  • Lawyer Chapter Programming Awards: Los Angeles Lawyer Chapter and Washington, DC Lawyer Chapter
  • Best Virtual Programming by a Lawyer Chapter: At-Large Chapter 

Faculty Advisor of the Year: April Dawson, North Carolina Central University School of Law

Concluding Remarks by ACS Board Chair Peter Karanjia

#ACS2020 Program: View the full June 8-12  Virtual Convention Program.