April 11, 2024

American Constitution Society Announces 2024 Next Generation Leaders

Contact: Nancy Rodriguez, media@acslaw.org

Washington, DC – The American Constitution Society (ACS) has selected 34 up-and-coming legal professionals as 2024 Next Generation Leaders.

Launched in 2007, the Next Generation Leaders (NGL) program recognizes and supports law school students who have shown exceptional leadership in their work with their ACS student chapters. The program offers various opportunities that empower the students to develop their leadership skills and make a long-lasting impact in their communities.

ACS President Russ Feingold noted, “I’m excited to introduce this year’s class of Next Generation Leaders, whose achievements represent the future of the progressive legal movement and the promise of a multiracial democracy. The Next Generation Leaders program was created to develop and support future progressive lawyers, judges, and policymakers, and this impressive class will contribute to the growing number of Next Generation Leaders alumni, already over 400 strong, across the country.”

NGL applicants are selected through a competitive application process. The selection committee looks for students who demonstrate strong legal skills, a commitment to public service, and a track record of leadership and community engagement. Every year, a select number of law students are chosen as NGLs, and one NGL is appointed to serve a two-year term as a student member of ACS’s Board of Directors.

NGLs are an integral part of the ACS network, with many contributing to the strength of the network as lawyer chapter leaders, mentors, and thought leaders through media and legal analysis. These leaders are also contributing to positive progressive legal change in their communities and around the country as lawyers, judges, policymakers, academics, advocates, and elected officials.

The 2024 Next Generation Leaders, in alphabetical order, are:

Aidan Beals, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law ‘25

Mary Berg, University of Wisconsin Law School, ‘25

Tyler Blackmon, University of Minnesota Law School ‘24

Macy Cecil, Washington University in St. Louis ‘25

Melissa Daniels, UNT Dallas College of Law ‘24

Mason Davenport, University of Virginia School of Law ‘25

Nicole Devereaux, American University Washington College of Law ‘26

Adrian Dubose, Southern University Law Center ‘24

Johnny Epstein, Belmont University College of Law ‘24

Arthur Etter, University of Michigan Law School ‘25

Ali Fazal, Washington and Lee University School of Law ‘25

Taylor Gilbertson, University of Wisconsin Law School ‘24

Alex Gonzalez, Southwestern Law School ‘24

Annamarie Hufford-Bucklin, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School ‘24

Travis Hunsberger, Syracuse University College of Law ‘24

David Jaffe, Stanford Law School ‘25

Bobby Mannis, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign College of Law ‘25

Allyson McBride, Indiana University Maurer School of Law ‘25

Patience McHenry, University of Minnesota Law School ‘26

Alanna McNaughton, University of California, Los Angeles - School of Law ‘25

Jack McNeil, DePaul College of Law ‘24

Kshitij Mehta, University of California College of the Law, San Francisco ‘24

Charlie Miller, Arizona State University's Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law ‘25

Andrea Nevares-Acevedo, University of Puerto Rico School of Law ‘24

William O'Malley, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law ‘24

Adem Osmani, Notre Dame Law School ‘25

Rachel Sharma, Washington University in St. Louis School of Law ‘25

Maria Stathopoulos, University of Denver, Sturm College of Law, ‘Dec. 24

Eliza Stup, Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law ‘25

Anthony Valdez, University of Virginia School of Law ‘25

Justin Vineyard, University of Houston Law Center ‘24

Eileen Wang, Widener University Delaware Law School ‘25

Lucy Weiss, University of California, Los Angeles - School of Law ‘25

Eleanor Werner, The Ohio State University, Moritz College of Law ‘24


The American Constitution Society is a 501(c)3 non-profit, non-partisan legal organization. Through a diverse nationwide network of progressive lawyers, law students, judges, scholars, advocates, and many others, our mission is to support and advocate for laws and legal systems that redress the founding failures of our Constitution, strengthen our democratic legitimacy, uphold the rule of law, and realize the promise of equality for all, including people of color, women, LGBTQ+ people, people with disabilities, and other historically excluded communities. For more information, visit us at www.acslaw.org or on Twitter @acslaw.