Junior Scholars Public Law Workshop

January 3, 2020, Washington, DC


The 2020 workshop was held on Friday, January 3, 2020, in connection with the AALS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. A committee composed of members of ACS’s Board of Academic Advisors selected 10 papers.

More about Junior Scholars Public Law Workshop: To further its mission of promoting the vitality of the U.S. Constitution and the fundamental values it expresses– individual rights and liberties, genuine equality, access to justice, democracy and the rule of law—ACS holds a call for papers for a workshop on public law in connection with the AALS Annual Meeting.

Each selected author has the opportunity to discuss his/her paper, as well as the paper of another author, in depth with two experienced scholars from the ACS network, which includes Erwin Chemerinsky, Pamela Karlan, Bill Marshall, Reva Siegel, Mark Tushnet, and Adam Winkler, among others.

Papers can be in any field related to public law, including but not limited to: constitutional law, administrative law, legislation, antidiscrimination law, criminal law, election law, environmental law, family law, federal courts, financial regulation, health law, public international law, social welfare law, and workplace law.

2020 Junior Scholars

Scholars Selected for the 2020 Workshop

  • Andrew Hammond, Assistant Professor of Law, University of Florida Levin College of Law

The Old New Property

  • Laila Hlass, Professor of Practice and Director of Experiential Learning, Tulane University School of Law

Proportionality, Adultification, and the Reimagining of the Immigration System’s Treatment of Immigrant Children

  • Elizabeth Katz, Associate Professor of Law, Washington University School of Law

“Racial and Religious Democracy”: Identity and Equality at Mid-Century

  • Leah Litman, Assistant Professor of Law, University of Michigan School of Law

The Aesthetics of Structure

  • Joy Milligan, Assistant Professor of Law, UC Berkeley School of Law

Plessy Preserved: Agencies and the Effective Constitution

  • Shalini Ray, Assistant Professor, The University of Alabama School of Law

The Law of Rescue

  • Bijal Shah, Associate Professor of Law, Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law

Judicial Administration

  • Brian Soucek, Professor of Law, UC Davis School of Law

The Constitutional Irrelevance of Art

  • Michael Ulrich, Assistant Professor of Health Law, Ethics & Human Rights, Health Law, Policy & Management, Boston University School of Public Health

Whose Lane is it Anyway? A Public Health Path for Second Amendment Jurisprudence

  • Justin WeinsteinTull, Associate Professor of Law, Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law

The Structures of Local Courts


For details about the 2021 workshop, please check this page in the fall of 2020.

Submissions should be emailed in Microsoft Word or PDF format to juniorscholarsworkshop@acslaw.org. Please indicate in the subject line “Submission for ACS Junior Scholars Public Law Workshop” and include the author’s name, school, and contact information in a cover email.  The cover email should also identify the field(s) in which the paper falls.


Tenure-track and tenured faculty, or faculty with similar status, who have been full-time law teachers for 10 years or less as of December 31, 2019, are eligible to participate. Co-authored submissions are permissible, but each of the coauthors must be individually eligible to participate in the workshop.

Other Terms

Authors are limited to one submission each. Selections will be made by November 15, 2019. Authors must arrange their own travel to the AALS Annual Meeting.


Inquiries may be sent to kstein@acslaw.org