ACS National Convention 2016




The ACS National Convention attracts over 1,000 of the nation’s leading progressive judges, lawyers and policymakers, providing a unique opportunity to learn about pressing legal issues while networking with lawyers, professors, policy advocates, judges and elected officials. The 2016 convention took place from June 9-11 and included panel discussions on a wide range of topics, including the 2016 election and the future of constitutional law, campus racial justice protests, and the increasing use of forced arbitration.


Featured Speakers
 Vice President Joe Biden, Sen. Elizabeth Warren, Sen. Amy Klobuchar, White House Counsel Neil Eggleston, Secretary of Labor Thomas Perez and Planned Parenthood President Cecile Richards.
We look forward to seeing you in Washington, D.C. next year!

2016 National Convention Summary


  • ACS at 15: Looking Back at 15 Years of Progress 
  • We the People? Law and the Politics of Inclusion and Exclusion
  • The Imperial Presidency?
  • The Constitution at a Crossroads


  • The Constitution’s Obligations
  • Data Privacy and Law Enforcement Access at Home and Abroad
  • Race, Speech and Inclusion on Campus
  • Shifts in Gun Politics, Policy and Constitutional Law
  • The Fall of Class Actions and the Rise of Forced Arbitration?
  • The State of the Unions: What’s Next for Organized Labor?
  • Under Siege: Marginalized Communities and the Criminal Justice System
  • The Weaponized First Amendment
  • Being Explicit about Implicit Bias
  • Deference in Doubt? The Future of Chevron and the Administrative State
  • The Gavel Gap: New Data on the Diversity of State Court Judges
  • Federal Judges Reflect on Sentencing

Convention Co-Hosts

  • Elizabeth Cabraser, Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein
  • Lily Eskelsen García, National Education Association
  • Cecile Richards, Planned Parenthood Federation of America
  • Cliff Sloan, Skadden; Chair, ACS Board of Directors

Honorary Co-Chairs

  • Hon. Harry Reid, Senate Democratic Leader
  • Hon. Nancy Pelosi, House Democratic Leader
  • Hon. Patrick Leahy, U.S. Senate
  • Hon. John Conyers, U.S. House of Representatives