Redistricting in 2011

On Friday, June 17, 2011 ACS hosted a panel on redistricting in 2011, featuring:

  • Kristen Clarke, Co-Director, Political Participation Group, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund
  • Gilda R. Daniels, Professor of Law, University of Baltimore School of Law
  • R. Keith Gaddie, Professor of Political Science, University of Oklahoma
  • J. Gerald Hebert, Executive Director and Director of Litigation, Campaign Legal Center
  • Marcia Johnson-Blanco, Acting Co-Director, Voting Rights Project, Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
  • Nina Perales, Director of Litigation, Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund

Globalization, Corporate Accountability & the Courts

On Friday, June 17, ACS hosted a panel discussion on globalization and corporate accountability, featuring:

  • F. Paul Bland Jr, Senior Attorney, Public Justice
  • Judith Brown Chomsky, Solo Practitioner, Cooperating Attorney, Center for Constitutional Rights
  • Kent Greenfield, Professor, Boston College Law School
  • Isaac Nesser, Associate, Quinn Emanuel
  • Owen C. Pell, Partner, White & Case LLP
  • Jeanne M. Woods, Professor, Loyola University College of Law

Convention 2011: Different Ways to Make a Difference: Nontraditional Lawyers and Their Impact on the Law

On Thursday, June 16, 2011, at the 10th Anniversary National Convention, ACS hosted a panel discussion on alternative legal careers featuring:

  • Ruben Bolling, Cartoonist, Tom the Dancing Bug
  • Lisa Brown, Executive Director, Government Reform for Competitiveness and Innovation Initiative, Moderator
  • Barry Eisler, Author, Thrillers including The Lost Coast (2011) and Inside Out (2010)
  • Seema Gajwani, Program Officer for Criminal and Juvenile Justice, Public Welfare Foundation
  • Dahlia Lithwick, Senior Editor, Slate
  • Eric Liu, Co-Founder, The True Patriot Network
  • Matthew McGough, Author, Screenwriter, including episodes for NBC's "Law and Order"

Judge Cudahy Presents the 4th Annual Cudahy Writing Competition Award

Judge Cudahy announces the winner of the Fourth Annual Cudahy Writing Competition on Regulatory and Administrative Law, with introductions by Caroline Fredrickson and Dawn Johnsen. The awards ceremony is followed by remarks by ACS Board Chair and University of Chicago Law Professor Geoffrey Stone.