ACS President Rebukes Senate For Blocking Vote On D.C. Circuit Nominee

March 6, 2013

Mar. 6 2013

Amanda Simon
[email protected]
Washington, D.C. – Senate Republicans successfully filibustered the nomination of Caitlin Halligan to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit. Halligan was first nominated to the court in 2010 to fill the seat vacated by John Roberts in 2005 when he became Chief Justice of the Supreme Court – and the seat has been vacant ever since.

Despite bipartisan support, Halligan’s nomination has faced opposition from obstructionist Republicans who continue to block women and minority judicial nominees. President Obama is the first president in nearly 100 years who has not had a D.C. Circuit Court nominee confirmed during his first full term. President George W. Bush, however, had three judges confirmed during his two terms.

American Constitution Society President Caroline Fredrickson on today’s vote:

“For too long, obstructionists in the Senate have held both the D.C. Circuit and our judiciary at large hostage with their tactics. Our courts and citizens are seeing justice delayed because our courts cannot function effectively or efficiently without judges. It’s far past time to end this vacancy crisis and get our justice system back up and running.”

To speak with Fredrickson, contact Amanda Simon at [email protected] or (202) 680-2866. To learn more about the judicial vacancy crisis, visit

The American Constitution Society for Law and Policy (ACS), founded in 2001 and one of the nation's leading progressive legal organizations, is a rapidly growing network of lawyers, law students, scholars, judges, policymakers and other concerned individuals. For more information about the organization or to locate one of the more than 200 lawyer and law student chapters in 48 states, please visit